From the heart…….

coffee branch

This is a post about milestones…. and evolution …..and gratitude.

You are forewarned- if you think this is going to be  boring, then please feel free to use the “Back” button! No hard feelings!

But then, a little blog history- My first post was in February 2014. In all the newfound enthusiasm of the neophyte, who thought she had things to say and share, I wrote about the sense of loss and bewilderment a cross-country uprooting brought with it and posted it. And sat back, congratulating myself…..

My son was the first to burst the bubble- Who will read your blog?, he asked.

Valid question!

Since no one appeared to be doing any reading so far, I carefully handpicked some of my friends, people whom I have known for long, people I valued and held with affection; and composed a brief sms; informing them that I have now become a blogger, giving the address, requesting them to visit it when they could spare the time….. I was known to them, a real-life  friend! Every writer loves feedback and comments (and of course, adulation.) I was no exception!

And then, to my utter dismay and shock, I found that more than half of those friends never replied, never visited the blog, never by word or deed acknowledged that they read that humble sms, let alone the actual blog!

But the other half, the less than half, took the pains to read, to assimilate, sometimes to comment, mostly not. Their words gave me  courage to write again- at least somebody had read what I wrote. Never mind if it was a single digit figure!

Sometimes the writings came on their own- and posts wrote themselves, with hardly an effort on my part; I was just a medium for giving them existence. The only commitment required from me was that of time! Sometimes a topic suggested itself and I researched it. I wrote about Buddhism, death and life, and about a brave warship. I wrote a poem, which entered my head one morning  and did not go away till it was given existence. I wrote about finding a feather when there should have been none, and about spiders and ghosts. None of these topics were on my original agenda. The agenda itself  got lost somewhere by the wayside!

I visited other people’s blogs and knowing now how a blogger felt, left comments if the entry spoke to me, instead of just lurking around. There was a modest number of followers to my blog too- people whom I do not know in real life and whom, most probably, I may never see with these earthly eyes, yet who felt real and close to heart. Wonderful people who shared similar interests and who loved words, despite all the time and distance and outward differences  between us. Who inspire me and bring a smile to my face!

One of those days, idly navigating the WordPress admin page, my son discovered the Stats button and called me over. I was again shocked, but for an entirely different reason. The thirty-plus  countries from which my humble blog had viewers included many which were only faraway names to me- Finland, Romania, Bulgaria, Turkey, State of Palestine, Myanmar, Republic of Korea, Sudan, Jamaica….. Somehow, my original intention of touching lives had rippled out. Somewhere, unbeknown to me, somebody had connected, was perhaps inspired, comforted, had picked up what they needed and had gone away rejuvenated- much like what I still do from the wisdom of so many authors.

butterfly

I am grateful to my readers- known and unknown- friends or strangers-who are not strangers anymore! I too have learnt many lessons on the way; to be selfless, to drop (to a great extent) the craving for acknowledgement, a widening of horizons, the knowledge that we are all linked in spirit; some of us more so than others. In short, gratitude, the most powerful blessing a human can feel.

Last week my blog statistics touched 1000 views.  For someone, who was resigned to be contented  with a single digit readership, this is a great achievement . Thank you so much, from my heart to yours, dear reader.

8 thoughts on “From the heart…….

  1. KSRaju says:

    Hello Sylvia
    Congratulations for reaching a “ton” viewership. Kudos!

    I have read all the postings.It was always a pleasant reading.I could not post my comments on two or three of the postings. Actually, i wanted to respond to the post on ” Manjadikuru” and on the feather- not with just few customary lines.When I read your post, I always feel some connect with the topics you choose.I wanted to readress them through my precipitated thoughts and then reply. Time constraints did not allow me to put them to words. The thoughts of those two blogs are still active in me..

    Now a days I am trying to read as much as i can- trying to finish one of the Shiva Trilogies of Amish which I had started in June(! ) and the “Lowland ” by Jhumpa Lahiri.My conscious efforts to read.I try to sqeeze some time from my ” limited 24 hours ” with long list of things to do from dawn to desk ( can I use 24/7, ha ha).Therefore, apologies for not commenting on few of the postings.

    But, be assured, I keep checking your blog, some times even go for a re- reading.. as your prose is beautiful,natural and crisp.You have the magical ability to take the reader to the cycloramic beauty of the land, hills, and lake.You know, how spectacular with thought- provoking crafting is

    Only a nature lover, only a lover of habitat like you could hear the rumblings and resonate with them and then write about them so beatifullly and to make us also hear it.. thus making you a good writer..i want you to write your first novel. Please wait for that moment when any such idea,or a story thread enters your head and start with no looking back,,,

    All the best, Sylvia… thank you again for the commendable writing.

    with regards,
    KSRaju

    • Thank you so much, Raju, for taking time out to write. I am honoured and blessed to count you as a friend.

      I accept your words with humility and will strive to be worthy of it! 🙂

  2. There is a skylight in the place where I write through which I watch the clouds sailing past or, when the sky is clear, the occasional glittering plane, the stars, the moon. This window expands my imagination in a real way, making me feel linked with friends across the world, including those I exchange thoughts with over the internet. And like you, I feel gratitude for the spirit connection we find with each other.

  3. Sylvia, when one writers, one is just a conduit for the words to flow through. One does not write because one wants to – one writes because one cannot NOT write. It will be like trying to stop breathing.

    • Thank you! Sometimes it is exactly how I feel- words flow without any conscious effort at all. They play in the mind- but most of the time do not take birth due to distractions. I grieve for those unborn words….

  4. Dear Sylvia,
    I wish i could also write like you do, simple words with such intense feelings!
    I have a very keen interest on how people interpret the world around them with words, music, photographs and how beautifully diversified the perspectives are for different people. Yet i believe there is something common that we all share in our lives, feel in our hearts. And your writings remind me of that collective sense that we share deep inside our mind.
    I thank you for that and keep on writing, you will never feel alone.
    Cause people around the world does care for you, your feelings even if you don’t know them!

    • Dear Nayeem,

      Thank you so much for your kind words! Your interpretation is through pictures and architecture-which you do so wonderfully well!

      As for me words are what I am good at- even though I spent about twenty years of my life with no creative output whatsoever. I used to (and still do) read voraciously, but was too unsure of myself to write.

      I too look forward to your wonderful posts! 🙂

Leave a Reply

